Randy Merritt to serve on board for East Tennessee Community Design Center

The Christman Company’s regional business development manager joins four other 2020 newcomers

Randy Merritt, regional business development manager for The Christman Company, will serve on the board of directors for the East Tennessee Community Design Center, effective 2020.

Merritt will join four other additions to the board – Phil Bernard of The Dollywood Company; Shana Love of Knoxville’s Community Development Corporation (KCDC); Carey Parker of LHP Capital; and Nathaniel Shelso of FirstBank.

East Tennessee Community Design Center (ETCDC), which was founded in 1970, strives to make the region a better place to live and work by bringing professional design and planning assistance to community groups and nonprofit organizations. The center receives pro bono design assistance from area architects, landscape architects, builders, planners and other professionals. Projects range from landscaping to community revitalization. The center’s executive director is Duane Grieve, an architect and former City Council member.

“Our new board members represent a cross-section of who we assist and bring valuable experience in their chosen fields,” said Nathan Honeycutt, president of the ETCDC board and an architect and vice president at McCarty Holsaple McCarty. “We welcome Randy, Phil, Shana, Carey and Nathaniel and their expertise to ETCDC and look forward to their contributions in our dynamic and committed group.”

The other ETCDC board members are: Scott Busby of Smee+Busby Architects and a board vice president; Lucinda M. Albiston, local attorney; Bill Bruce of IBI Placemaking; Hollie Cook of Knox Heritage; Dwane Dishner of Dishner Designs; Alicia Griego of First Horizon; Kristin Lee Grove of the Public Building Authority; Mary Wells Holbrook, community volunteer; Mary Kathryn Kennard of IBI Placemaking; Maggie Kornahrens of FUNYL Commerce and a board vice president; Peter Ludman of Cope Architecture; Dr. Dasha Lundy of Smoky Mountain Home Health and Hospice; Lane E. McCarty of the Tennessee Valley Authority; Alli Montgomery of McCarty Holsaple McCarty; Mary Beth Robinson of PlaceSynergy; and Charley Sexton of Moxley Carmichael.

Ex-officio directors include Ken McMahon of the City of Knoxville’s Community Development Department; Jeff Welch of Knoxville-Knox County Planning; and Jason Young of the University of Tennessee College of Architecture & Design. Emeritus directors include Dr. Joe Johnson of the University of Tennessee and Douglas H. McCarty of McCarty Holsaple McCarty.

Back to News

Theme picker

Media Contact

Amy Baumer
Vice President, Marketing and Business Development

Project Webcams

For those who still feel the thrill of a child in the sandbox every time you see a crane or dump truck, or for those who simply want to tune in visually on the progress of our projects, check out our project webcams for a look at what's happening on site.